Advocacy Alert: Proposed Budget Cuts to Seniors

The Mayor’s Budget proposal includes significant budget cuts for older adults in Washington, DC. Make sure DC Councilmembers know how important services for DC’s older adults and family caregivers are!

  • The Mayor’s Budget proposal includes a budget cut for Seabury Connector senior transportation of nearly $500,000. This will mean fewer buses on the road offering you fewer options and choices in transportation.
  • There is a proposed 2.9% cut to the Lead Agency/Aging and Disability Resource Centers’ budgets.

What can you do to prevent these cuts?

Contact the DC Council members from your ward, and those at-large, and tell them to reject these cuts! Cost savings should be used to expand services not cut them. Call them, visit, write a letter!  And sign up to testify at the April 26, DC Office on Aging Budget hearing.  For more information on testifying or making your voice heard, call Kate Lewis at (202) 414-6312/Klewis@seaburyresources.org.

All Councilmembers have an office at 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW.

At-Large:

Councilmember Vincent Orange
Suite 107 / Tel: (202) 724-8174
Email: VOrange@dccouncil.us

Councilmember Anita Bonds
Suite 110 / Tel: (202) 724-8064
Email: ABonds@dccouncil.us

Councilmember David Grosso
Suite 402 / Tel: (202) 724-8105
Email: DGrosso@dccouncil.us

Councilmember Elissa Silverman
Suite 408 / Tel: (202)-724-7772
Email: ESilverman@dccouncil.us

Ward Members:

Ward 1: Councilmember Brianne Nadeau
Suite 102 / Tel: (202) 724-8181
Email: BNadeau@dccouncil.us

Ward 2: Councilmember Jack Evans
Suite 106 / Tel: (202) 724-8058
Email: JEvans@dccouncil.us

Ward 3: Councilmember Mary M. Cheh
Suite 108 / Tel: (202) 724-8062
Email: MCheh@dccouncil.us

Ward 4: Councilmember Brandon T. Todd
Suite 105 / Tel: (202) 724-8052
Email: BTodd@dccouncil.us

Ward 5: Councilmember Kenyan McDuffie
Suite 506 / Tel: (202) 724-8028
Email: KMcDuffie@dccouncil.us

Ward 6: Councilmember Charles Allen
Suite 406  / Tel: (202)-724-8072
Email: CAllen@dccouncil.us

Ward 7: Councilmember Yvette Alexander
Suite 404 / Tel: (202) 724-8068
Email: YAlexander@dccouncil.us

Ward 8: Councilmember LaRuby May
Suite 400 / Tel: (202)724-8045
Email: LMay@dccouncil.us

buy me pizza

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s